The Gazette Today


India secures seat as a non-permanent member at the UN Security Council

2 min read
India Elected aa permant member of UN

In an expected development, India was elected unopposed to join the 15-nation body for a two-year term, starting in 2021, by securing 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly on Wednesday.

Mexico, Norway and Ireland have also been inducted into the Security Council. 


  • According to Article 23 of the United Nations charter, the Security Council consists of five permanent member states, along with 10 non-permanent members elected to serve a two-year term.
  • The five permanent members of the Security Council include China, Russia, the United Kingdom, France and the United States of America.
  • India’s latest induction into the Security Council comes at a moment where there appears to be significant polarisation between the five permanent members.

“Combatting terrorism and peacekeeping will be the priority for India,” Permanent Representative of India to United Nations TS Tirumurti said following the election.

Union Minister of External Affairs S Jaishankar also congratulated the Permanent Mission of India to the United Nations and the team Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) for the “good work”.

Previously, India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the Council for the years 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and most recently in 2011-2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *